WUZZ Line 1-800-397-9633

Nine counties eligible for disaster assistance

Submitted Fri, 08/09/2013 - 9:55am by Andy Alm

ERIE – The combined effects of frost, excessive rain, and tornadoes in late spring and early summer have resulted in the government declaring a handful of counties in our region natural disaster areas.

Receiving primary designation status are Erie and Mercer Counties, with contiguous counties Butler, Warren, Crawford, Lawrence, Venango Mahoning and Trumbull also eligible. 

Farmers in these areas can qualify for low-interest USDA emergency loans

The declaration was made August 7th.  Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from that date to apply for loans to help cover their losses.

The Farm Service Agency will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.  Additional programs available to assist farmers and ranchers include the Emergency Conservation Program, Federal Crop Insurance, and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program.

For more information, visit fsa.usda.gov.